Tuesday, 26 March 2019 14:16

Mātauranga (NZSO) - 18 July 2019

When: Thursday, 18 July 2019 from 19:30-22:00

Where: Baycourt Community & Arts Centre

'Mātauranga', by Wellington-based Michael Norris, was commissioned as part of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Cook’s Landfall Series to mark 250 years since the first encounters between Maori and Europeans at Captain Cook’s first landfall.

Beethoven’s revolutionary Piano Concerto No. 4 starts with just the piano – a first. A beautiful slow second movement contrasts loud spiky strings with a soft, smooth piano melody that segues into a scintillating finale.

Mendelssohn’s famous Hebrides Overture was inspired by his visit to Fingal’s Cave, on the Scottish island of Staffa.

Mozart’s Prague Symphony premiered in Prague during the composer’s first visit there. The Bohemian wind players were famous throughout Europe, which might explain the symphony’s lavish use of wind instruments.

Carlos Kalmar

Steven Osborne

-Mendelssohn 'The Hebrides Overture, Op. 26'
-Beethoven 'Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58'
-Michael Norris 'Mātauranga'
-Mozart 'Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504'

A Reserve Adult $65.00
A Reserve Concession (65+) $55.00
A Reserve Child (18 & under) $45.00

B Reserve Adult $50.00
B Reserve Concession (65+) $43.00
B Reserve Child (18 & under) $15.00

Ticketing service fees apply

Find out more

Additional Info

  • Event Date: Thursday 18 July