Awards, Creative Kōrero

TECT Community Awards – Open Now!

The TECT Community Awards are here, celebrating the people and groups who contribute to making the Western Bay of Plenty one of the greatest places to live.

Presented by: TECT

The TECT Community Awards has been designed to bring together all those who are involved in the not-for-profit sector; a celebration and recognition of those in our community helping make the Western Bay of Plenty one of the greatest places to live. The awards will be held on the 19th March 2020.

This will also be a fantastic opportunity for people to come together, to meet, network and to build deeper relationships with others working towards common goals. And we’ll have some spectacular entertainment along the way.

Who is Eligible for the TECT Community Awards?

Any not-for-profit organisation in the Western Bay of Plenty can be nominated for the TECT Community Awards. Groups do not have to have received funding from TECT to apply. The Awards are based on activities undertaken in the previous 12 months.

Who Can Nominate a Group for the Awards?

Anyone can make a nomination.  You can nominate any community group or individual in any of the 6 award categories. You don’t need to be directly associated with the group/person you are nominating. You can nominate yourself, a group, or a person known to you.

You can make multiple nominations and nominees can be entered in more than one award category. Note, you will need to submit separate entries for each award category.

What are the Categories?

The TECT Community Awards are divided into six categories. On the nomination form, groups must select one category to be judged in. If, in the view of the judges, an entry meets the criteria for consideration under another category, the judges reserve the right to transfer the entry to that category.

  • Rising Star Award – recognising and encouraging emerging grassroots groups in our community.
  • Event Excellence Award – recognising an event that has excelled in bringing our community together.
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award – recognising an innovative initiative which supports diversity and inclusion within our community.
  • Sustainable Future Award – recognising a group that demonstrates sustainable practices embedded into the organisational strategy, vision and operations.
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – recognising an individual who has made a significant contribution to the community.
  • Youth Spirit Award – recognising an individual under 25 who embodies community spirit through their contribution to the community.

How are the Awards Judged?

A panel made up of community representatives will judge the entries. The key criteria considered by judges are:

  • Impact on community – benefit of service/project on the wider community
  • Innovation and creativity – utilises innovative ideas and new approaches.
  • Effectiveness of activities – success of service, achievement or objectives
  • Use of resources – cost effectiveness, sustainability, and volunteering involvement and commitment
  • Collaboration – evidence of collaboration and partnerships

The decisions of the judges will be final. Representatives of the nominated community groups and those who nominated will be invited to attend the Awards function, which will be held Thursday 19th March 2020.

Nominees will be announced in late January 2020. Category winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony. A Supreme Award winner and Lifetime Service Award winner will also be announced on the night of the Awards.

Find out more

Awards, Creative Kōrero

CBOP instagram