Creative Kōrero, Music

Gordie Tentrees Debut New Zealand Tour Announced

Canadian folk artist Gordie Tentrees is bringing his heartfelt and charismatic live show to Aotearoa for the first time in his decades-spanning career.

On the tail of his seventh studio album Grit, Tentrees packed up his porch board bass, snare tam, bottleneck dobro, harmonica and guitar for a continent hopping 2018 / 2019 international tour, saving the best for last this summer with his upcoming extensive New Zealand leg. Kicking off with an appearance the 2020 Auckland Folk Festival, Tentrees will be gallivanting down the country late January and into February for a total of fifteen intimate shows. Take in the dates below and see where you can experience the sometimes satirical but always sincere artist…

Gordie Tentrees

Friday 24th January to Monday 27th January – Auckland Folk Festival, Kumeu Showgrounds
Tuesday 28th January – The Incubator, Tauranga*
Wednesday 29th January – The Cabana, Napier*
Thursday 30th January – Nivara Lounge, Hamilton*
Friday 31st January, Lucky Bar, Whanganui*
Saturday 1st February – The Globe Theatre, Palmerston North
Sunday 2nd February – Golden Bear Brewing, Mapua
Tuesday 4th February – A Rolling Stone, Christchurch*
Wednesday 5th February – Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin*
Thursday 6th February – Manor Estate, Oamaru*
Friday 7th February – Private Concert, Lyttelton
Saturday 8th February – Fiddler’s Green Vineyard
Sunday 9th February – Acoustic Routes Nelson, Nelson
Wednesday 12th February – Old School Arts, Raglan*
Thursday 13th February – The Vic Devonport, Auckland*

Tickets available HERE via UTR*

Check out footage of Gordie Tentrees with Jaxon Haldane playing a foot-stomping rendition of ‘Ring Speed’ at Erbse in Dillenburg, Germany…

 

Press release:

International award nominated Canadian Gordie Tentrees is touring New Zealand for the first time. From Celtic Connections (Glasgow, UK) to National Folk Festival (Canberra, AU) his ability to hold an audience, weave melody, while juggling the light with the dark is infections. In the past he has toured with Fred Eaglesmith, Mary Gauthier & Kelly Joe Phelps, and is both a Western Canada Music Award nominee and finalist in the International Song Competition judged by Tom Waits & Loretta Lynn. He will be making his debut at the Aucklund Folk Festival this year with 5 instruments (porch board bass, snare tam, bottleneck dobro, harmonica, acoustic guitar). Gordie has 7 records behind him, performed over 2500 concerts in 11 countries and is a road poet & master storyteller.

“Majestic songwriter, incredible insight, genuine authenticity” Americana UK

Click here for tickets to the Tauranga show!
Creative Kōrero, Music

CBOP instagram

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed for this account. New posts will not be retrieved.

There may be an issue with the Instagram Access Token that you are using. Your server might also be unable to connect to Instagram at this time.

Error: No posts found.

Make sure this account has posts available on instagram.com.

Menu