Creative Kōrero, Literature, Opportunities

Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement 2021

Nominations are now open for the annual Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

These prestigious awards recognise New Zealand writers who have made a notable contribution to New Zealand literature in the genres of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

One award of $60,000 is made each year in each of these three categories:

  • Fiction
    Any genre, including novels, short stories, plays, children’s fiction, and scriptwriting.
  • Non-fiction
    Any non-fiction discipline is acceptable, with the quality of the work being the main determinant.
  • Poetry

Any New Zealander can make a nomination and writers can nominate themselves. Full details and nomination forms are available on Creative New Zealand’s funding page.

Nominations close Monday 12 July 2021, 1pm.

Creative Kōrero, Literature, Opportunities

CBOP instagram